Skip to content

Baby Consumerism

March 2, 2011

I’m seeing a Pottery Barn changing table here for $1,029.00. It’s nice.

I just bought a changing table on craigslist from a nice family for $30. It’s nice too.

That is all.

d.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jentastic! permalink
    March 3, 2011 5:50 am

    Yes! It drives me crazy to see how programmed parents can become to think they MUST HAVE all these “accessories” for babies! I never even bought maternity clothes…

    I was looking at the Pottery Barn Kids catalogue with my neice, and saw a TOY vacuum cleaner for $60, my jaw dropped…get that kid a real vacuum for that price and make him do some work…

  2. March 4, 2011 10:14 am

    LOL – starting them early. haha

    I know, I’ve been having this constant inner mental debate with myself about what the baby really, actually needs. I figure, a warm place and a boob ought to do it. Then maybe build a little from there. I was thinking of not getting a changing table at all. I mean, I’ve got the floor and the bed right. But, I’m also lacking any sort of shelving storage. So, I got a changing table with some shelves. Made sense. I wouldn’t even dream of buying this stuff new for like 100x the cost of what I’m finding it used. Just crazy…

Leave a Reply

