Skip to content

It’s a Glitch!

February 19, 2011

Welp, Doctor was mistaken, we’re having a girl! We’re assuming all that prominent ‘stuff’ was umbilical cord because her girlie parts are quite normal looking and recognizable 🙂

YAYYYYYY!!

So, I have to retract my previous statement about ‘wanting a boy’. I’m not sure what happened… but when he said “Nope this is definitely a girl.” I had this fleeting moment of shock/confusion/disappointment. Then it came over me like a wave:

WE’RE HAVING A GIRL OMG SHE’S GOING TO BE SO RAD HOLY CRAP IT’S A GIRL ALL I’VE EVER WANTED WAS A GIRL!!

(??? I didn’t even want kids until about a year ago…)

I also had a brief moment of doubt the days leading to our ultrasound as to whether or not I wanted to find out the sex at all. There certainly is a romantic aspect to waiting and doing it “old school”. But I definitely think finding out was the right choice for me (us?). Me.

I’ve been waiting, not so patiently, to feel some sort of connection to the baby. Until this ultrasound it… for one, was “he”. And it was more an ‘it’. And it was this uncomfortable thing in my belly. And it made me have to pee. And it made me tired. But now I know it’s HER. And she’s rad. And she’s dancing in my belly. And she’s punching me in the bladder and making me want to pee my pants. And I totally love her.

When I start crying watching a couple smooch on the street, I can blame her. When I almost don’t make it to the bathroom in time, I can blame her. And when I think of my life 10 years from now, I can think of a sweet little girl playing soccer and being a tomboy like me. Or being a totally frilly pink girly girl and me getting a kick out of her individuality. I can think of how I will raise her to be a confident little girl and a strong woman who LOVES being a woman. I will teach her to know and use her own strengths and not wish she had something else or was like someone else.

And right now, sitting here trying to write this post, crying, unable to even see my monitor anymore… I can blame her for that too, and it’s a awesome thing.

❤

 

Is she not the cutest thing ever??

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

