Skip to content

The truth is, I just can’t post anything when I have a secret

January 1, 2011

We’re having a baby!

There! It’s out there in the open, and now this blog may be revived.

We’d decided to wait a while before posting anything about the baby, so in the meantime, I’d go to write about, say, all the snow we’ve gotten, but it would go something like this:

“Yay! We have snow! It’s my first proper, “sticking” snow ever, being from southern CaliforniaWE’REHAVINGABABY! I’MPREGNANT! SOEXCITED! CAN’THOLDITIN ANYMORE!”

Then I would delete and give up. There is nothing else really to talk about… It’s my first pregnancy, first baby, and it’s basically all I can think about.

So, here is the scoop:  I’m 13 weeks pregnant, and baby dudelet is due on my 30th birthday. Would you get a load of that. Another Cancer in the house. So, July 8th is set to be a pretty big day. Doubtful he’ll actually arrive that exact day… but, that’s what I’m aiming for. To begin my child’s life by making him share from day one. “Ahh, yes, the first thing you have in your tiny, brand new life, your birthday, well, it’s mine too. Get used to it.”

You’ll notice I keep saying “he” and “him”… We had an ultrasound at 12 weeks/4days, and while it’s early to make a definite call, the doctor (and I) both saw…. well, you know. I asked him if what I thought I was seeing there was really there and he said “Well, do you want to know if it’s a boy or a girl?” and I said “YES WHAT DO YOU KNOW SPIT IT OUT WASTE NO TIME TELL ME I WILL CLAW YOUR EYES OUT TELL ME” (but in a really sweet tone) and he said, “well…. I saw a prominent… well, I’d say it’s a boy. But it’s early, we’ll have to check again in 6 weeks to confirm.”

You heard right. “Prominent.” Jared was beaming. I thought he’d split at the seams.

Now if he turns out to be a girl, we’ll just blame a really well placed glitch on the ultrasound, and be excited about having a girl. I’m also going to be totally honest, I know most pregnant ladies pull the “oh, whichever, as long as its healthy.” And I can totally subscribe to that idea. Of course, health first. But one isn’t really dependent on the other is it. I can prefer a healthy baby over a sick baby, and also prefer a boy over a girl. Which I think I do. The preference is mild… and it seems I’m totally setting myself up for disappointment, but there it is. I know you all wanted to know. If we do have a girl, with a prominent glitch, of course I’ll be thrilled… I mean, obviously all girls born on or around July 8 are totally radical. So, that’s just a given that she’ll be the raddest little girl ever. Likely, with blazing intelligence, radiant beauty, and a wildly inappropriate sense of humor. Just like… well, our friend Jessi, who’s birthday is July 3rd.

Anyway, in the meantime, baby will be referred to as ‘he’ – because that’s just a lot warmer than ‘it’.

First trimester was, well not quite a breeze… but I feel like I got off pretty lucky compared to some. No vomiting, mild nausea. I was really tired, and started to feel… crappy around 5pm. Not ‘end of the world’ crappy, just like “meh, I’m going to watch 4 episodes of Battlestar Galactica now.” Unfortunately, that habit has stuck, and I’m completely sucked into BSG, and my life cannot continue on until I finish watching the entire series… But that’s for another blog, which I’m suddenly feeling compelled to create.

We ended up doing a lot of traveling over the first trimester, which I think made it easier for me. It’s easy for me to get lazy and want to just sit around avoiding feeling sick at all. But, being constantly on the move got me up and active, which I think was really good for me. Week 6: I worked in Montana. Week 7: We drove to San Francisco for a week. Jared was roasting for Ecco. Week 8 and 9 we were home. Week 10/11: We were in Hawaii — which was… awesome.  Pics Here

Not much else to report, I suppose… I’m feeling great now. According to the ultrasound, baby Linz looks perfect and healthy. I’ve gained about 11 pounds and have a little belly thing going on. I’ll get brave and post pics soon.

And, I’m sure there will be many rants to follow regarding things like hospital birth and vaccinations and public schooling…

So, with that, HAPPY NEW YEAR to all of you… and a whole happy new life for us Linzmeier’s.

xo,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    January 1, 2011 6:48 pm

    Woo hoo! Now it’s known to the world! And I guarantee that if that prominent . . . well, you know . . . turns out to be an ultrasound glitch, you will want a girl more than anything in the world. Pregnant minds just work like that. Awesome! xoxoxo

  2. kristen* permalink
    January 1, 2011 7:25 pm

    So excited for you guys! You’re gonna be great parents ~ Congrats!

  3. January 1, 2011 11:27 pm

    A baby!!! I am so excited for you guys! Congratulations! (Baby boys are awesome. They really are.) (Actually, babies of any sort are awesome. You guys will have a blast.)

Leave a Reply

