Skip to content

Want Milk?

May 29, 2010

Get goats

No, that’s not Dee and no, we don’t have a little stinker running around yet.  But yes, we do have a milk stand like that for our goats.  I came across this warm image and some good info about the benefits of goat milk awhile back:

http://www.motherearthnews.com/Sustainable-Farming/2002-06-01/Want-Milk-Get-Goats.aspx

I need to get some overalls…

-j

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2010 11:27 am

    His and hers overalls? Forever-matching outfits?

  2. May 29, 2010 11:55 am

    Mm! Nothing like fresh goat milk cappucino! Just squirt right into your coffee!

  3. May 29, 2010 4:30 pm

    My parents do this. My mom is up to 17 (!) goats now, and for a while they were exclusively drinking goat milk fresh from the source – no store-bought milk at all. The goat milk is actually very good and really not that different from cow’s milk. Plus, you know exactly where it came from and what the animal ate.

    My mom made a bunch of goat’s milk soap with some extra, and I think she also made cheese of some sort too. You should try making soap! It’s really not too hard.

  4. May 29, 2010 10:42 pm

    17?! Yowza. I’ve been hearing lots about soap making and we have been freezing a bunch of excess milk for that potential purpose. I need to read up on that. Any tips or recipes, Meggan?

    On a related note, I wonder if I can pour latte art straight from the teat?

    -j

  5. May 31, 2010 9:20 am

    “I wonder if I can pour latte art straight from the teat?”

    This one made me snortle. It’d probably be more like latte graffiti. “Merri waz here” in your shot of espresso.

    d.

  6. June 18, 2010 8:11 am

    FINALLY my mother emailed me back. This is what she said:

    “As far as recipes , i started by using the info i found at Snowdrift.com where i also buy supplies…best bet is to do internet searches. I start with a whole quart of very very cold goat milk to which i add the lye. I don’t have my basic recipe right here but one day i will dig it out and send it. It’s basically like cooking, you just keep tweaking a recipe til it is just what you want. I have had pretty good success with most of mine. Not really any i would call a failure. Also on the goat topic, i use Fiasco farm for my goat info as they cover about every topic you can think of and with pictures and videos.”

    I helped make the soap once and it was very much like cooking/baking. We had a big bowl and a hand mixer and we wore rubber gloves and masks, and mixed everything together. There’s one step where the mix gets really hot and with the goat milk it can turn kind of orangey, and then it cools down a bit and you can pour it into your mold.

    My dad made the mold for my mom’s soap – If I remember correctly, it’s basically a large wooden rectangle base that you pour the soap into. Then there is a flat piece of wood with metal strips poking out of the bottom in the shape of a pound sign, so when you press it down onto the mold box it cuts the soap into bars for you. (I feel like I have pictures of the process somewhere but I can’t seem to find them at the moment.)

  7. June 25, 2010 11:21 am

    Awesome! Maybe this weekend we’ll have time to try an experimental run. Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

