Skip to content

Feed Thyself

May 29, 2010

With GMO’d foods on the rise, we’re taking it upon ourselves to grow organic, heirloom, non-GMO veggies in our garden next year. We moved too late to do most of the garden from seed, and to be honest, I hadn’t really looked into where our seeds and starts were coming from.

But, I’ve been doing my research, and first I’ll just say eff Monsanto and the other handful of multinational food companies who produce the bulk of America’s food, who’s CEOs sleep just fine at night, thanks very much, because they sold their souls to the devil long ago and are incapable of feeling guilt, remorse, concern for anyone – even their own children’s generation. So they’ll get rich by ridding the world of real food. Meh. Who cares.

Actually, I do. But all I can do is wave both middle fingers around, yelling “eff you” into the wind and hope it carries on the same gust that’s blowing my organic, heirloom, non-GMO seeds onto one of their fields.

The good news is, we can all do something for ourselves. Buy heirloom seeds. Plant a garden, I don’t care how small it is. A single planter box hanging off of your 20 foot loft window. A raised box in your urban yard. Half an acre out in the country. Harvest and save your seeds every year. Every seed counts. Think of all the spiritual, theological, psychological metaphors drawn from the idea of planting a seed. Then take it literally. Plant that seed, and take an active role in restoring real food to humanity.

d.

http://www.seedsavers.org

http://www.survivalistseeds.com

http://www.arkinstitute.com

http://www.heirloomseeds.com

http://www.everlastingseeds.com

http://www.victoryseeds.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa Spor permalink
    May 29, 2010 10:42 am

    Excellent! I agree that Monsanto is pure evil! If I could I would never put anything they have ever touched into my body. But, truly that is a little hard. However, I have taken inspiration from your guys’ site and have planted a few veggies of my own and my back porch, its small, but as you say it will make a difference.
    Thanks guys!
    Melissa

  2. May 29, 2010 10:50 am

    Yay Melissa! Thanks, you totally just made my day.

  3. May 29, 2010 10:56 am

    Daniel and I just watched Food, Inc. a couple of weeks ago and OMG. Monsanto! The jerks! I was horrified.

  4. May 29, 2010 11:16 am

    That’s awesome, Melissa. Yeah, when we were buying seeds from True Value I knew something didn’t quite feel right and that was even after watching Food Inc. I still hadn’t quite considered how to find the good stuff. One step at a time. With farmers markets taking off, giving power and respect back to producers and with the ‘micro lot’ and slow food movement happening in coffee, wine, chocolate, beer, and even meat, produce is bound to rise. Meggan, Food Inc. sure was a trip, but that farmer in the middle of the film inspires me/us to continue trying to do more and to find more like-minded folks. Cheers!

    -j

Leave a Reply

