Skip to content

Loose Leaf Tea

April 14, 2010

I actually asked J this evening if it’s possible to be addicted to tea. We’ve gotten into a pretty steady rhythm with the tea consumption. We get up in the morning, I stagger to the shower, J skips chipperly to the kitchen to brew up some tea. When we get home from work in the evening, I walk into the house and straight to the tea kettle. I’ll admit I may have a problem, but compared to some of the problems of others *coughcoffee* I think we’ll be OK. The bummer is that we’re into the good stuff, so it could turn into a really expensive little ritual. The redeeming factor is that J works for a brilliant coffee and tea company, and they sell the good stuff. Habit: enabled.

Tea, and my beloved farm dog.

So, I’m sitting here on my third cup of tea recovering from a long day at work followed by a few hours out on the range. I planted the last tree, finally, as well as the rest of the raspberries. We also planted the dead-looking wine grape sticks and put up some posts and twine for them to vine up on.

J finished the 1″ fencing around the bottom of the chicken run and started putting the top on. Our chickens are going to be well protected. As it is now, we put them in their coop before dark so as to not attract nocturnal predators with an inadequately sealed coop.

Little Friday let out his first big boy cockadoodle this morning, we heard it and beamed like proud parents hearing their child say “da da” for the first time. And, we finally named the rest of the hens, the Silkie girls outside. The white one is Goose and the buff one is… wait for it… Buffy.

Next up we need to name the farm. And still need to name the crick.

d.

PS: If you’re wondering about the photos of the goats in the Flickr stream, hold your horses, we’ll get to that soon.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ryanbrown permalink
    April 14, 2010 10:57 pm

    you failed to tell me what tea you’re drinking. i like tea.

  2. April 15, 2010 9:10 am

    Last night it was Iron Goddess of Mercy. My fave lately has been Jasmine Green. Mmm.

  3. Jeff Owens permalink
    April 15, 2010 6:03 pm

    One nice way to do tea is growing your own. We grow
    green tea here in Estacada and it is quite hardy. I’ve
    not had any pests or problems with the plants. We sold
    the plants at the farmers market for a few years, but
    not many people were interested? The lack of interest
    is a puzzle. Why spend money for something that is
    so easy to grow?

    • April 15, 2010 9:06 pm

      Jeff, I’m really interested in growing my own. I’d heard that it wouldn’t grow well in OR. I’d love to hear more! Would you be interested in selling me some plants?
      d.

  4. April 16, 2010 12:36 pm

    Goats?? GOATS?? You can’t leave me hanging like this! GOATS!!!

  5. April 16, 2010 12:37 pm

    That was evil right… soon!

Leave a Reply

