Skip to content

The Wilds

April 2, 2010

The Wilds

‘Child of my hand
the field is combed for you
in patterns, postage stamps.
Yield.’

These first lines of Mark Levine’s poem The Wilds always makes me think of my nephew as well as my own childhood in Wisconsin. I remember long days, late summer sunsets, eating green beans off the stalk. I also have thought of this poem numerous times throughout the homebuying process. It is full of birth, it gives life to the land and the sky and has a sensation of making the reader feel carried along like seeds planting, like leaves floating dead to the ground. It focuses on our connection to the earth, how it touches us and we touch back, how the young child can be pure and true.

When I saw our house I knew it felt right for many reasons, one of them being I could feel this poem’s potential to come to life there.

One of the means to achieve our playful end, our proximity to our land, is the hinted-at purchase from Coastal. We meant to post about it sooner, so now have probably created a nice foundation to disappoint you, Amanda Pants, but here spill the beans: we have BOGS, dear friend. They are neoprene and they are rubber and oh boy do they hug our feet. They have handles and they are black and boy oh boy they allow us to tromp the creek and the overgrown field, protecting us from the brambles.

We will wear them well.

-JR

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 5:37 am

    I just want to add, first, an apology for those of you who were excited about this epic mystery purchase. Overwhelmingly disappointing, I’m sure. I’mma have to watch my words next time 😉
    And second, we both literally think about these boots while we’re at work, then talk about our boots on the drive home from work, it’s like this on-going fantasy, all day… “I can’t wait to get home and put on the BOGS”
    It’s a little ridiculous, but maybe if you follow our rantings on here long enough you’ll come to realize that we get really excited about silly things.
    d.

  2. Angie Williams permalink
    April 2, 2010 1:53 pm

    I love your boots! You totally brought me back to my childhood in Minnesota. Long summer days…chasing frogs on my grandparents front lawn, picking dandelions for what seemed like hours, collecting grasshoppers and ladybugs, corn on the cob picked from the neighbor’s field, wild asparagus…and of course eating green beans right off of the vine. Let me also mention the beautiful field of weeds and wild flowers, right out in back of our apartment complex. I loved to run through the field…colors of flax, yellow and purple. Flying my kite…or just laying in the sun.

    Congratulations on your new purchase. The home…and the boots:o)

  3. Amanda Pants permalink
    April 5, 2010 1:28 am

    I LOVE THE BOGS! I really, really couldn’t be happier.

Leave a Reply

